My Journey

Hello everyone!  I am a second year teacher working in the Victoria and Saanich school districts.  I spent my first year TOCing in both these districts, and am excited to say that I am starting off this school year with a temporary contract at James Bay Elementary.  I hold a previous degree in Psychology, and graduated from VIU’s post degree program in 2011. I got married at the beginning of the summer, and my wife and I are living in North Saanich.

 

I’ve always been interested in computers and technology, and have been able to keep my head above the water when each new technological advancement arrives on the scene.  It has only been in the past year that I’ve found myself becoming out of touch with this field, and I’m grateful that this course will force me to acquaint myself with all that is new and wonderful in the tech world.

 

I have taken two previous online learning university courses.  For the most part I found the workload and content delivery to work for me.  Both courses were self-paced, and it was a challenge at times to keep myself on schedule and motivated.  Neither of these courses delivered their content in “chunks”, so it was a little overwhelming being presented with a wall of information and assignments right off the bat.  I am very excited with how this course is being delivered so far.  I find it very helpful interacting and learning with the very tools that we will be using in our own classrooms.

 

I am excited about the opportunities that open learning provides to build on student’s existing knowledge of computers.  I often find that when I am experiencing technical difficulties in the classroom, there will be at least 5 students who can navigate the problem better than I could.   Our students are growing up in a world full of innovation, and it is our job to prepare them to navigate these innovations, without fully understanding ourselves what groundbreaking advancements may be upon us next.   I think the only way we can do that is to foster an environment where problem solving, creative thinking, and teamwork are encouraged and rewarded, as it is these abilities that will allow our students to embrace each new advancement.

 

In my own practice I can see myself using many web2.0 technologies to stay connected with my students, and connect them to the many amazing resources that are out there.  While I see great benefits to be had by introducing students to distributive learning resources, I think there needs to be a balance between this and more traditional face to face time.  The social component of the classroom is something that is very hard to replicate, and something that is important in a child’s development.   I think it’s a pretty exciting time to be a teacher right now, and have no idea what this profession will look like at the end of my career!

Tags:

Leave a Reply

